FatBooth ???????

As I was browsing through my Facebook home page, I noticed that one of my Friends had commented on someone’s FatBooth photo. I had never seen this app before and I was absolutely shocked! People actually pay for an app that makes you look fat — and what’s even more shocking is that kids are looking at these photos and making comments like “That looks good on you”, or “I look cute this way”. What does this say about our society?!

We are working so hard in our schools and our classrooms to get students to be the best person they can be and to take care of their bodies. We also focus highly on respecting others and not having “fun” at others’ expenses. So, wouldn’t FatBooth be going completely backward from that?! Again, we are allowing the typically “beautiful” and “attractive” people to have all of the power in our society. Does an app exist to make heavy people look thin? I highly doubt it. What does this tell our adolescents about body image? Certianly nothing productive, that’s for sure!

  1. #1 by Kristin on March 3, 2011 - 4:28 pm

    That’s a really interesting application; I’ve never heard of that. I definitely agree with what you are saying.

  2. #2 by Emily Ritenburg on March 3, 2011 - 5:35 pm

    Wow, I have never seen this and was absolutely shocked when I read your post. You hit the nail on the head when you said “Again, we are allowing the typically “beautiful” and “attractive” people to have all of the power in our society.” This app is a perfect example of how we construct beauty, uplift those who fit conventional beauty standards, and oppress those who don’t. Really glad you posted about this.

    Emily

Leave a Reply

