The Passion of Teaching

A couple of days ago I was shopping in Saskatoon with my mom. After an hour of fun looking through clothes and trying them on, we headed up to the till. My mom was talking about how she could wear the clothes to school, as she is an EA. The cashier said “Oh, you’re a teacher, I’m a teacher too”. She was mentioning in passing that she had something in common with my mom, yet the way she said it really struck me. She was proclaiming that she was a teacher, not just mentioning it. I was obviously caught up in the moment because I said “I’m going to be a teacher in a couple of months!” The three of us were beaming at the thought of being educators.

This little experience really reiterated the fact that teaching and education is a very special career, and very different from most others. Although I was very aware of this before, this was my first time “celebrating” it, if you will, with a stranger. It was really great to feel that connection to someone we had never met prior to walking into that store. My mom and I both left the store feeling very confident in our career choices, and knowing that someone else felt the same way as us!

Education – all aspects – is something to celebrate!!!

  1. #1 by Patricia Cone on February 22, 2011 - 3:32 am

    Great post! I know you and your mom will have lots of encounters like this from now on!

  2. #2 by Bethann on February 22, 2011 - 5:01 pm

    This post is so true. As an educator, I also feel a bond with other educators. My mom and sister-in-law work in schools and we can talk for hours about school and about our struggles and successes. It feels good to share with others that have gone through similar experiences. I hope that this bond that we feel with other educators will make us more reflective and effective teachers by being able to collaborate with others.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

